To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Checked another box from must-read-books list. And I wish I had done it at least 15 to 20 years back. But no, maybe I would have hated it if I read it under an obligation rather than to mentally isolate myself in a group quarantine situation.

To kill a mocking bird by Harper Lee has been part of academics in a lot of countries but it wasn’t for us, I’m guessing because of mention of rape. Just guessing.

It’s odd and funny when you can relate to story published in 1960, but a lawyer dad, curious little girl who questions the norm, directs the story home after every few pages.

Well. It’s a perfect story that’s written to teach you reality of life and people with the seasoning of humour and innocence.

Written from the perspective of a child brings clarity without overwhelming the reader, even to the sensitive subjects like inequality, racism, rape, cultural norm regarding gender roles and adolescence.

The story gracefully treads the blade without hurting the story or laying a single scratch on the narration style. Never once crossed circumference of child’s lens.

Neither does it sugarcoat reality.

This part is astonishing.

If you haven’t read it yet, please do. For me, this book is one of my favourite classics ever.

My favourite quotes from the book:

“You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view … Until you climb inside of his skin and walk around in it.”

“Until I feared I would lose it, I never loved to read. One does not love breathing.”

“People generally see what they look for, and hear what they listen for.”

“I think there’s just one kind of folks. Folks.”

“The one thing that doesn’t abide by majority rule is a person’s conscience.”

 

Copyright © 2020 stoneronarollercoaster – All rights reserved

ss ebook 2020 small     instagram-icon_1057-2227    download

Kindly visit my post Warriors Invited To Raise Mental Health Awareness where I am inviting Mental Health Warriors to submit their blog’s address so that we can join hands to control this wildfire.

8 thoughts on “To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑