Don’t Pluck Them!

You look at a field and a flower catches your fancy. You admire and adore it for its elegance.

But you don’t see constant flow of nourishment it’s getting from its soil and atmosphere that’s keeping it alive.

When you Pluck it, it might stay put for a few hours in your hand.

Or when you put it in a vase and take care of it maybe it will last a bit longer but it will eventually wither and die.

You know why?

Because you detached it from its surrounding.

You thought you can adopt it and it can grow in your affection solely, but that’s not how nature works.

You deprived it of inherent needs that helped it flourish.

Such are relationships.

You can’t own people.

You can’t substitute their family, friends, ambitions and dreams.

No matter what your ego tells you.

No matter how hard you try.

You can’t!

You don’t have to own people to prove them that you love them.

 

Copyright © 2017 stoneronarollercoaster – All rights reserved

15 thoughts on “Don’t Pluck Them!

  1. What a nice comparison to family! It kind of made me think…

    Every year I plant annuals in the flower boxes on my deck. I don’t pick the flowers, but at least in that soil they live up to 6 months until the first frost, especially begonias and petunias and the like. It is sad to see them go, but the next year we have to buy total replacements. In contrast, the daffodils and grape hyacinths in my front garden bloom every year. They are perennials. They don’t bloom nearly as long as my annuals, but they always come back. I guess that represents people in life, too. But you are right that some picked flowers that have limited life are the most tragic.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. love the way you always show a new perspective.
      plants are like that you can control their life. i tried very hard to grow a few herbs in UAE but its so scorching hot only basil could thrive. rest of them just died no matter what i did. you cant just control them.

      and about what i wrote in the post.. i have seen this happening so often that i seldom see people who let others grow. specially in a relationship.

      thanks for sharing your perspective i highly regard it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I hope that you are now left to grow. I still have some obstacles, but not by actual persons.

        I wonder if rosemary and thyme would grow well in UAE. They have been quite resistant to all sorts of challenges in my neck of the woods. Maybe mint, too? I like that all three of these herbs come up every year, unless they are very much challenged.

        I have enjoyed your blog and perspectives very much, as well. I think I was very lucky to have discovered your writing from the very beginning of my time writing on WordPress.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Unfortunately not yet. But i am trying to break free before i whither.

        I tried planting rosemary and mint too. I was ok in winters but summers literally torched the poor plants. It get 40 to 50 degrees celcius in summers. All i am left with is aloe vera and basil. Well i dont feel too bad about that too because it taught me patience.

        Yeah i think we started blogging around the same time. I am lucky to have you around 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

